What Inspires Me? I’m Glad You Asked.

I always freeze up when I get asked what inspires me. My style inspiration, interior inspiration, LIFE inspiration it’s all very hard for me to put into words. “I can’t really describe it, but here, let me show you some pictures.” That’s my typical answer. The truth is, I’m complicated. All of my fellow fashion friends that I go to school with usually have a one and done answer. Not me. I credit all of my inspiration to my childhood and everything I grew up with. It shaped me into the woman I am today.

I guess that means I should start at the very beginning and probably with my favorite quote… “I was born at the age of twelve on an MGM lot.” – Judy Garland. When Judy was 13 she signed a deal with MGM Studios and thus credited that as her “birth”.

I grew up watching ‘old hollywood’. The Wizard of Oz, Singin in the Rain, etc. Later that evolved to the great films of the 70s, 80s and so on. Thanks to that when people ask me who my style icons are along with Selena Gomez (Alex Russo shaped my early teenage years), I credit Carrie Fisher and Ingrid Bergman. Don’t get me wrong, modern fashion impacted my life but where would any fashionista be without her origin story?

I like to keep things classic. While I do follow a number of trends, I always make sure they’re trends that reflect my personal style. If I don’t like a trend, I won’t follow it. I have this Pinterest board, Vita Della Moda. In Italian it means “fashion life”. If you have a look at the board there’s images ranging from 1960s California to Harrison Ford in Indiana Jones. 

I get inspirations from places I visit, old pictures I see and the stories people tell me. The fashion you know today wouldn’t be here without the past and I’m al for embracing that. There’s no limit to the people and places that inspire my style. So no, I won’t be able to give you a definite one word answer on who or what inspires me, but isn’t that the beauty of it? Like I always say, I was born in the wrong decade.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

