Pizza. Pirates. Pittsburgh.

It’s been forever and a day since I’ve posted and I’m finally on summer vacation now. This has absolutely nothing to do with fashion, but I really want to tell you guys about the day I had yesterday. I’m not writing this post to brag in any way, but I’m just really excited about it. For those of you who don’t know, my family owns a pizza shop in our town. Because of a family friend I had the opportunity to deliver pizzas to the Pittsburgh Pirates. Naturally I was over the moon, but I didn’t get my hopes up because I had no idea what to expect. The staff knew I was coming and whenever I arrived I had to get a guest pass from the main desk. (So official!)

The next thing I knew I was walking down a tunnel past the visitors locker room on my way to the Pirates locker room. (I did see some Arizona Diamondbacks on my walk.) Since I was going to the game later that night I wore my Cervelli t-shirt all day. I truly didn’t expect to meet any of the guys let alone Francisco, but when I rounded the next corner who was leaning up against a golf cart? None other than Francisco Cervelli. Here I am carrying three pizzas in my hands and our family friend pulls me over to introduce us. Francisco, meet Francesca. He held his hand out for me to shake and this is when I thought ‘Oh my god Im going to drop all of these pizzas in front of him. I shook his hand and said I was happy to meet him. Most people respond with an, “It’s nice to meet you too.” Not Francisco. Nope, he responds with, “My pleasure.” The pleasure was all mine Francisco, believe me.

Continuing my walk down the long tunnel I came to a door labeled ‘X-Ray’. Well we couldn’t go through there because someone was getting a massage. So we went through the locker room. Yeah, the locker room designed for a bunch of major league baseball players. While I was waiting outside to be let in a man walked past me and into the locker room. I looked over and it happened to be Gregory Polanco. The room is huge, and I’m pretty sure there were more rooms than I saw. I was led back to this room where a bunch of medical things were set up. I met all of the medical trainers first and then some of the Pirates rolled in. I turned my head for one second and the next thing I knew I’m face to face with David Freese. You know, for as nervous as I thought I was going to be, I wasn’t.

I guess someone told the Pirates that I was coming to bring pizza a day in advance because I was standing in the corner of the room and I hear, “Is Francesca here?” Jared Hughes walks right over to me and I’m still in shock that he asked for me by name and rememberd it from the day before. He was super lovely, and asked me a bunch of questions about my family and the business. He thanked me a number of times and said he was going to get me an autographed ball. (I truly wasn’t expecting anything, by this point I’m like a giddy five year old.) Sure enough, he comes back with a ball and Mark Melancon. If you follow me on Twitter you might have seen my tweet about the time I saw Mark at WalMart. The entire time he was talking to me I had to refrain myself from asking him how he liked his new vacuum.

I was in the room for about an hour. As time went on I got to meet Gerrit Cole who is a lively baseball fan, I will add. The Cardinals vs. Cubs game was on in the room and he became quite vocal. John Jaso was the one getting the massage I mentioned earlier and when he was finished he came over to meet me before getting ready for the game. (His dreads are way cooler in person too.)

Jared Hughes came back in one more time to say goodbye to me and to thank me. He noticed my shirt and said he was going to try to find Cervelli. I thanked him numerous times for the ball and for being so generous. A few minutes later Cervelli came into the room with a sharpie asking if I wanted my shirt signed. Obviously! I am incredibly ticklish so the minute the sharpie hit my back I had to use all of strength to stay put. If I had only one chance that day to ask someone for a picture, it was going to be him. Thankfully I mustered up enough courage and made it happen. I honestly can’t think of a way to beat this day and I’m never going to forget it for as long as I live.

FranciscoFrancisco 2BallBall 2Ball 3

Leave a Reply

