…It Was All Started By A Mouse

Disneyland 60

“I can’t remember a time that I cried this hard,” I whispered to myself as the first three minutes of the Disneyland 60 spectacular passed by. Last night at 8:00 on abc Disneyland celebrated its 60th birthday with a huge show full of a-list celebrities, elaborate dance numbers, and a few clips introducing some new happenings at the Disney parks. Derek Hough of  Dancing With the Stars was the master of ceremonies for the night, but he did take some time out to perform in a couple dance numbers. Jessie J, Tori Kelly, Elton John, and Fall Out Boy were a few of the performers that reinvented some Disney classics.

Derek Hough dancing to “Be Our Guest” on Main Street really hit me hard considering its been less than three months since I was in Walt Disney World. Back in the Dolby Theater Jessie J got on stage to sing the Pinocchio classic out the notes to “When You Wish Upon A Star”, no doubt, it brought back all of those memories of me watching the fireworks in Disney World covering my ears because the noise was, and is, too loud for me. Josh Gad getting a dole whip even brought me to tears and I apologize for just admitting that. Thanks to Fall Out Boy I was singing along to one of the best songs from The Jungle Book while wiping away soft droplets. (Thank god my roommates aren’t home to see me like this.) It’s no surprise that Elton John’s rendition of “Circle of Life” would go and tug on my heartstrings. UPDATE: My roommates have just walked in. So far there is no evidence to them that I have been crying.

Neil Patrick Harris announced once again about Disney’s #ShareYourEars campaign…uhm how am I supposed to choose just one picture, Neil?  As soon as Alfonso and Whitney took the stage I knew it was time for Derek Hough’s dance that he had mentioned a few days prior on Kelly and Michael. I did not expect “Part of Your World” or “Friend Like Me” to be performed, but I was pleasantly surprised. All I expected was “Step In Time”. Naturally, Dick Van Dyke made an appearance and at 90 years old he can dance better than I can. Okay, okay, my emotions have ceased a bit by the time this segment ended. That was mainly because there was a commercial break.

BAM! Three minutes later it came back on and they announced Harrison Ford’s name. Oh no, they’re back and this time in full force. (No pun intended) Sure, I was feeling a little nostalgic to the times that I saw each Star Wars movie for the first time and wished I had a best buddy like Chewbacca always by my side. I never thought that one day I would be able to explore and fly the Millennium Falcon myself. Being in the midst of a battle against the Empire? Yes please! That’s just a small portion of what the future Star Wars land has to offer, but you can be sure that I will go when it opens and report back in detail. Did I mention BB-8 rolled out? No? Well he did and it was endearing to see. Harrison proceeded to announce that an orchestra was there to play the music from Star Wars and I was more ready than I have ever been. The orchestra was playing, clips from all the movies were flashing across the screen, and then the audience started waving blue lightsabers in the air. Honestly, I wish I had my own lightsaber to wave along.

Do you ever think about broomsticks walking around carrying buckets of water? Well I do and there’s only one place where that can be a normal sight. Fantasia. The movie where the wizard’s name was Yensid because it’s Disney spelled backwards and where the song “Sorcerer’s Apprentice” is constantly stuck in your head because of its catchy tune.

Sadly it came time for the end of the program. Elton John once again graced the stage to sing “Wonderful Crazy Night” during the fireworks show. It was nothing short of magical. Thankfully, my parents have the program on DVR at home. So, when I go home for spring break I will be sure to watch a bit if I’m feeling particularly down about not being at Disney. I have nothing more to say besides a HUGE “thank you” to Walt Disney for creating the happiest place on earth that provided so much magic and memories for my family and I.

“To all that come to this happy place: welcome. Disneyland is your land. Here age relives fond memories of the past, and here youth may savor the challenge and promise of the future. Disneyland is dedicated to the ideals, the dreams, and the hard facts that have created America… with hope that it will be a source of joy and inspiration to all the world.” -Walt Disney

Leave a Reply

